Different kinds of laughs

Inspired by a recent blog topic from Daily Post, I’ve decided to compile a list of the most common types of laughs. Which one are you?

The dolphin. This laugh should be trademarked by my sister. Characteristics of the dolphin laugh include high-pitched, high-frequency squealing, typically induced by tickling. Its sound is similar to a monkey-horse.

The pedophile/killer. Usually reserved for creepy guys, this laugh is more like a strange grunting noise. Also, there is little to no facial expression of happiness.

The sniffer. For this laugh to be uttered, the laugher’s mouth needn’t be open. Laugh-like sounds emerge from the nose, generating an illusion of sniffing. Very Sheldon Cooper-esque.

The frighteningly loud outburst. When something only slightly funny is said or happens, this type of laugh is so shockingly loud and unexpected that you are actually scared for the first few seconds.

The evil scientist. Need I say more?

The sarcastic ha. 97% of the time, this laugh is spoken with a serious and/or angry face. Typically it is a string of two to three ha’s put together to indicate sarcasm, or by socially awkward people who have not learned humour or emotion.

The creepy baby/clown. Babies and demonic clowns share the same laugh pattern of tee-hee’s, with stern, glaring eyes. Adam does this one to scare me sometimes, and I cry.

The silent open-mouth. Sometimes, people forget to breathe, which yields a facial expression that looks like a muted laugh. Shaking shoulders are often associated with this style.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

12 Responses to “Different kinds of laughs”

  1. lostinamirage Says:

    ZOMG LOLZ! I don’t think I fit into any of these categories but my laugh CAN be super loud sometimes. I have to add that my laugh changes every few months, like from “hehehehe” to “hahahahaha” or vice versa. (Or it sounds completely different and possibly not of this world.) I’m not sure why this happens, but the general consensus is that I’m at least 50% insane.
    I’d like to acquire the evil scientist laugh though!

  2. adamdubai Says:

    you think that was funny? Ha Ha Ha Ha ha
    Guess which laugh that was.

  3. inurbase Says:

    My laugh is a cross between the evil scientist and the frightening loud outburst

  4. Ahmnodt Heare Says:

    I have been told I sound like an emo mad scientist. Is that good?

  5. adamdubai Says:

    Yeah so I know you are busy and all that but that doesn’t mean you can neglect your blogging. Start posting:)

  6. sash Says:

    I am re-blogging this. Thanks for sharing.

  7. Rebecca Says:

    So I laugh quietly but not silently, and it’s not anything girly or creepy. It’s like “hahaha” without any emphasis on any specific sound. What would that be classified as? O-o

    • onamatopoeia Says:

      Hmm, this is a tough one…

      I would probably classify it as “other.” Included in your category would be the laugh of Justin Timberlake, Spongebob Squarepants, that freaky vampire guy from Sesame Street who likes counting things, and Morgan Freeman, to name a few.

      Some laughs just don’t fit anywhere else!

Leave a comment