God(s) of Cookery

Yeah yeah, I know, you don’t have to say anything. It’s been over a week. But you know what? I don’t care.

You haven’t really missed anything. Also, I’ve been uninspired. But today, I’m going to share with you a brief  post about Adam’s and my cooking challenge!

Originally, we used to have a barbecue every Friday (or a braai if you’re South African). Of course it has since become excruciatingly hot, so instead of outdoor grilling, we decided to move our extraordinary talent indoors. “What brought this on?” you might ask. Two words: MasterChef Australia.

Each week, Adam and I must prepare at least one dish, alternating between starters and mains. But the problem is, it turns into a legit competition, complete with sabotage, swearing, poison, and a few bitchslaps. The kitchen is literally Hell (pun intended, if you watch any cooking shows, possibly ones starring Chef Ramsay).

I’m going to share with you some of the dishes we’ve made so far. If you want recipes, contact me somehow and I’ll just spit in your face and tell you to Google them.

Breaded Breast of Chicken – Adam / Main / Score: 9.5

Adam made a delicious chicken once. It was succulent and juicy on the inside, yet crispy and thymeful on the outside. He made his own breadcrumbs and his own sauce. Phenomenal!

Mini Lamb Steaks, with Crumble Topping – Ona / Main / Score: 8.5

Aw man, this started out a disaster, but in the end I sorta won. Because I had to resort to oven baking, the lamb was a bit dry, but the crumble was goooorgeous. I’m not even going to talk about the risotto.

Garden Salad with Poached Prawn and Tangy Vinaigrette – Adam / Starter / Score: 9

Yep, this salad was as good as it sounds. I still would have preferred grilled prawns, but the poached ones were tasty and perfect nonetheless.

Spicy Thai Chicken Salad – Ona / Starter / Score: 9.5

Spicy and delicious and amazing, with a sauce that tasted exactly like the heart and soul of Thailand.

And there were a bunch of other dishes as well, including Kappa Maki, oven-grilled chicken, spinach/strawberry salad, and Adam’s magnificent dual meat skewers. Next week it’s my turn on mains again, so we’ll see what happens. Check Adam’s blog for possible updates and photos of our cooking adventures!

P.S. The title of this post is the title of a real movie. Download it (with subtitles!) because it’s funny as hell.

Tags: , , , ,

8 Responses to “God(s) of Cookery”

  1. lostinamirage Says:

    So it’s an established fact that I can’t cook, therefore I would like to hire you as my chef. Do you accept?
    I am however, quite an expert at eating. I think that counts for something! ;)

    • onamatopoeia Says:

      Of course I accept! :D But my going rate is $1000 per meal. 99% of the proceeds go to a charity called “My Pocket.” The other percent goes into my savings account.

  2. adamdubai Says:

    So just to be clear, who is winning?

  3. Tene Says:

    HAHAHAHA THIS IS SOOO CUTE!?! YOU GUYS HAVE SCORES? :D
    This makes me really like adam, that’s cute <3 .

  4. Tene Says:

    “contact me somehow and I’ll just spit in your face and tell you to Google them.” hahahaha and who bitchslapped who? I’m tryna get in on mad action right now.

    • onamatopoeia Says:

      Dude, when you come, you’ll see the action in real life. :D

      And by “bitchslaps” I actually meant that Adam threatens me by waving sharp knives in my face, or holding them to my neck and whispering lines from Hannibal. It’s a tough relationship. ;)

  5. Mohammed Says:

    You’re making me sushi. Just fyi.

Leave a Reply

