How NOT to make potato chips*

*Or “crisps,” if you’re a douchebag

So I was craving some salt and vinegar potato chips today. Not having any in my house, I decided I’d make my own. I mean, it can’t be that hard, right? Thinly peel a potato, add some salt, add some vinegar, throw everything in the oven, and call it a day, right?

Wrong.

Here’s what I did, which you shouldn’t do, and perhaps you can even give me some pointers.

Step 1: Thinly peel a potato, keeping the thickness of the slices as even as possible.

Step 2: In a separate bowl, mix some oil, vinegar, and salt.

Step 3: Soak the potato slices in the magical mixture of deliciousness.

Step 4: Preheat oven to 210˚ C

Step 5: Line a baking tray with aluminum foil. Baste a little bit extra oil and salt (to prevent sticking).

Step 6: Place soaked potato slices on tray, making sure no slices touch.

Step 7: Place tray in oven, somewhere in the middle.

Step 8: Bake for like 10 minutes, or until golden brown.

Step 9: Remove tray from oven.

Step 10: Cry.

What did I do wrong?! They were soggy-ish raw (but burnt), and tasted like the smell of a horse’s butt hole. Please, someone, give me a recipe that works, because apparently I’m retarded and lack common sense.

In the meantime, I’m just gunna go buy a pack of Lays.

Tags: , , , ,

7 Responses to “How NOT to make potato chips*”

  1. Mohammed Al Qemzi Says:

    The fact that you know what a horse’s butt-hole smells like intrigues me.

  2. Mohammed Al Qemzi Says:

    Oh and this might help

    http://hubpages.com/hub/Easy-Homemade-Potato-Chips-Recipe-Salt-and-Vinegar-Homemade-Potato-Crisp-Recipe

  3. lostinamirage Says:

    Haha, maybe you wanna try frying them rather than baking them. Maybe put them in a deep fryer? But don’t take my word for it, I suck at cooking.

    However, I shall ask my personal chef, Gaston for advice!

  4. lostinamirage Says:

    P.S. Ignore the unnecessary comma. Punctuation errors give me OCD. :P

  5. Tene Says:

    HAHAHA this is SO sad, dude!
    I think you drew the foil well.
    I’m also glad you’re not a douchebag who says “crisps”.
    You’re getting better at your drawings.
    People complement my “6ish reasons why Tene is the most awesome person alive” poster :)

  6. neilslorance Says:

    Aw bless, this totally sounds like something I’d do! love the wee pictures! nx

Leave a Reply

