The end of an era

In January 2009 (that’s one-and-a-half years ago, for those of you who can’t do math or keep track of time), I visited my friend’s bike shop in New York. In the back, they have a cozy little servicing workshop area. I was sitting there for a while, taking pictures and whatnot, when I noticed a small white string on the floor. I asked if I could keep it, and of course no one objected. After all, it was just a piece of string. But to me, when I find random shit like that, I create an unnecessarily strong bond with it, and I love and cherish it forever. The same goes for keychains and other useless trinkets. I’m a pack-rat, if you will.

Anyway, so day in and day out, I wore this string. It never came off. I wore it in the shower, through the blizzard, to the beach, to class, to work, to formal events, under my bandages when I sprained my wrist, on road trips, on scuba diving trips, during sleep, you name it. This string was attached to my wrist like white on rice. It witnessed a temperature gradient from -10˚C to 50˚C. It withstood humidity levels from 0 all the way to 100. It was one tough string. And surprisingly, despite the fact that it was white, it never looked dirty. I loved it as much as a human being could love a random twine of fibres.

Yesterday in the ladies’ toilet of the mall, I was washing my hands when the unthinkable happened. My magical piece of string, the one that had put up with me for so long, broke. It lay helplessly in the sink, and I just stood there and watched it for a while. Could it be that this is really the end? I mean, sure, I could’ve just re-tied it onto my wrist, but it wouldn’t’ve been the same. That initial bond had been broken.  I shed a single tear as I held the tiny piece of interwoven threads up to the light and considered flushing it down the toilet. Instead, I left it on the side of the sink, for a new person to find and hopefully tie onto something.

Although, chances are, it probably got thrown away with all the paper towels.

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “The end of an era”

  1. Tene Says:

    I think I just cried a little… This is surprisingly sad, dude. Almost sadder than when Freddy the fish or whatever the hell his name was died… I miss you by the way.

  2. Tene Says:

    PS are those your photos on the website?!

    • onamatopoeia Says:

      Haha, yeah that was a sad moment in my life. I don’t think I’ll ever be the same again. And yes they are, in fact, my photos. :)

Leave a Reply

