When did I last thank someone?

I thanked someone over the phone not two minutes ago, for informing me that she has 75W infrared bulbs in stock.

Amadeus broke his light a couple days ago (and I can only imagine that he accidentally whipped it with his surprisingly strong iguana-tail) and hasn’t been eating normally since. The reason being, reptiles cannot control their own body temperature, and need to be a certain level of warmth in order to correctly digest food. So I went on an expedition around town to every single big pet store, in search of another infrared bulb.

One store had them, but they were like a gajillion watts and even bigger than Amadeus, so I decided that was ridiculous. Another store had a 60w infrared bulb, but it was ceramic, and I prefer the red ones because they help improve Amadeus’s night vision. So I didn’t get that one. Another store just placed the order and would be getting the new shipment in a week. And the last store I went to was also out of stock, but they had one more left in their display-iguana’s cage! I went to check it out (they were going to give it to me for free), but it turns out that she, too, whipped her light into a broken state of uselessness.

Defeated, I went back home empty-handed and went to sleep.

This morning, I thought of one last place that I know of, that I haven’t yet checked. But I wasn’t feeling too optimistic, so I decided to call first (before I drive all the way out there in vain).

“Hey, uhh, do you have infrared bulbs in stock?”

“Just a minute ma’am, let me check.”

“Kay cool thanks.”

“Ma’am? Yeah, we do have them.”

“Oh okay, but I don’t want the ceramic ones.”

“They’re not ceramic, they’re the red ones.”

“Oh. Okay cool, but I can’t handle eight trillion watts either, I don’t want my house to explode into a supernova of infraredness.”

“Well I have 60W, 75W, and 100W.”

“You… what?”

“I said, I have 60W, 75W, and 100W. And they’re not ceramic. And I’m pretty sure your house won’t become a supernova. Aaaand, we have a part sale going on, so if you buy one, you’ll get the second one at half price.”

“OH MY GOD YES! THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOUUUUUU!!!”

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

