Things I learned today

The old adage is true! You really do learn something new every day! But in my case, since I’m super awesome, I learn more than just “something.” I learn many things! And because I’m feeling generous, I shall share them with you.

  1. There are 1,448 red and white rings that make up the lane lines at the lap pool in Jumeirah Beach Hotel. I haven’t gotten around to counting the blue ones yet.
  2. Seppuku or “stomach-cutting” is a form of Japanese ritual suicide, originally used by samurai who would rather die with honour than be captured by the bad guys. The process involves stabbing yourself in the stomach with a tanto (those long, bad-ass samurai swords) and then twisting it left and right with slicing motions.
  3. No matter how hard you try to effectively bite off a hangnail, you will always rip off half your finger along with it. I currently have four of my fingers wrapped in bandaids.
  4. Red Bull does not give you wings.
  5. Typing “my rob” into Google will yield several suggestions, including “my robot is pregnant.” When I found this out about an hour ago, I nearly shat my pants with excitement/fear. However, there are no female robots currently in labour (that we know of), rather, My Robot Is Pregnant is simply a cool blog. Besides, everyone knows robots are asexual and can only produce offspring by building and programming their own.

And… yeah. That’s all I learned today. Pretty productive, huh?

UPDATE: I counted the blue ones as well. There were 912, making the grand total 2,360 (590 for each lane divider). Woo! *slits wrists from boredom*

Tags: , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Things I learned today”

  1. rene a Says:

    A few things are very evident… you are KAK bored at work and strangely explict in your blog (because its your blog- i know) which makes for a bloody marvellous read…

  2. Aaisha Says:

    I will prove you wrong. Redbull DOES give you (me) wings! I’ll show you next time we fortunate enough to meet.

  3. Aaisha Says:

    we are* typo.

Leave a Reply

