I think I might be psychic-ish.

This isn’t the first time that I’ve dreamt something and it has come true, but this one is unusually accurate and creepy.

I just woke up. It was like six-something in the morning. Meaning I was late. And I wouldn’t have time to shower, because Ten gets angry at the fact that she is perpetually late to school. So I got up, got dressed, went downstairs, made some scrambled eggs for Ma and Ten, packed my backpack, brushed my teeth and tried to do something with my hair, and then started putting on my shoes. 

Suddenly, I get this feeling that something’s not right – I haven’t heard Tommy’s obnoxious meowing at all this morning. And now that I think about it, he didn’t sleep with me either, which is strange and unusual. So I continue putting on my shoes and open the front door to go outside, thinking he’s maybe peeing or something.

When I open the door, I freak out. Our house is no longer our normal house from the outside. Rather, it’s on giant stilts that must be about a kilometer tall, because all I can see are clouds. But like, big, cute, fluffy clouds. So although my initial reaction was SHIT, TOMMY MUST’VE GONE OUTSIDE AND FALLEN TO HIS UNTIMELY DEATH!, my second reaction was “Hm. I’ve always wondered if I could bounce on fluffy clouds…”

So I tentatively dipped my foot in the closest cloud, thinking it would just sink in, as if through normal air. But I was wrong! I was now touching what felt like a giant marshmallow with my foot! So I prodded it for a bit, wondering if it could support my weight and then I got too impatient and just jumped for it. If worse came to worst, I’d just join Tommy in Hell.

But thankfully, the marshmallow cloud did support my weight, and it was even kinda springy. Which made me happy, so I started bouncing around. Then I actually became courageous enough to jump from cloud to cloud and explore the sky. Fun times, I tell you.

After about half an hour of my solo exploring expedition, I met Tommy. He was just chillin’ on a big comfy cloud, snoozing in a ray of sunlight. “Oh hey dude, what’s up? Funky clouds, hey?” he said to me. “Woah, you can talk?!” I asked, “Since when?” “Uh, since forever, retard,” was the response, so I just kinda stood there in an awkward stupor. But the good kind of awkward stupor. Like the kind of awkward stupor that you’d get after half an hour of dancing around on clouds and you just found out your cat talks and he’s sarcastic and mean and you love him even more.

So Tommy finally breaks the silence by asking me if I wanted to play a game. Of course I said yes, so he pushed this button and all of a sudden, the Super Mario Land theme music comes on. And I look down and find myself all pixelated and stuff. And now, there’s boxes above me and little mushroom freaks zig-zagging around. 

sml1-1

“You do know how to play, right? Because this is real. ‘Game Over’ literally means you die.” 

Of course I knew how to play. I’ve conquered this game multiple times in my life! I was just getting used to the fact that I’m now in like, first-person-shooter mode, and not looking at a tiny 2D screen. But then I noticed my time was running out in the corner, so I ran off. 

Ga-ding! Ga-ding! I was getting all my boxes. Ga-ding! Ooh, secret tunnel! Gadididididididididdddddding… ddddiiiiing. Drrrring! Yes, an extra life, woohoo! I was jumping around, getting all my boxes, killing all the mushrooms, I got my biggifier (or whatever the fuck they’re called), finished the level, got a bajillion points, and kept on going.

At the level where there’s like, evil totem poles bouncing around and trying to kill you, I got stuck. Because you know that part with the spikes on the floor, and there’s rolling boulders that you have to jump on to get transported? Yeah, I kept landing on the spikes. Painful, I tell you. My extra lives went from like, twenty-three to twelve. And I began stressing. But eventually I made it out alive.

Finally I was on the last last last last level. The one where you’re in a little plane, zooming through the clouds, and it’s like, way difficult because these evil birds and airplanes keep trying to attack you and shit. I was tired, sweating, slightly nauseated (from shrinking and expanding so much), and I really just wanted to go back home because by now, Ten’s going to definitely kill me for making her so late for school. But try as I might, I could not pass this one stage. I just couldn’t. I kept dying!

sml1-2

I was so distressed when my health heart-count reached single-digits. I must make it! I thought to myself. Alas. I was on my last heart when I got trapped behind a stationary box that I couldn’t shoot because I wasn’t big, and the screen continued moving and I was forced off. I heard the chime of the Game Over music and desperately looked for an eject button in my little airplane, or a parachute or something, but there was nothing. I just started falling through the sky, dying slowly. My life game flashed before my eyes. My heart was heavy with guilt and shame, because I had forsaken my princess, and she would forever be locked up in the castle. A single tear rolled down my cheek as I realised Ten would get detention for missing homeroom. “Mad World” by Gary Jules started playing in the background. It was a sad, sad time.

And then I woke up. “Ona, why aren’t you awake? Do you know it’s already six-something in the morning?!” my mom was asking me. 

“Huh? What? Oh. Okay yeah, I’m up, I’m up. Make me coffee. I’ll be down in a second.” So I got up, got dressed (Ten said I wouldn’t have time to shower), went downstairs, made some scrambled eggs for Ma and Ten, packed my backpack, brushed my teeth and tried to do something with my hair, and then started putting on my shoes. What a weird deja-vu, I thought. But I kinda ignored it because I was still half-asleep.

“Have you seen Tommy?” my mom asked. And then it clicked. Like, the reason as to why I was having this feeling of deja-vu. Because it already happened! So I was like, “No… I haven’t… seen… him…” And slowly walked to the door, thinking maybe I had somehow earned an extra chance at life and would be able to play my game again. 

When I opened the door, however, I could see ground. Barely. Because it was foggy as hell. And when I say foggy as hell, I mean I couldn’t see beyond two meters. Dare I say it was… cloudy? :-O Creeeeepy. But Tommy wasn’t there. So I went to look for him and he was upstairs sleeping, and I woke him up to see if he could talk, but he couldn’t. He just gave me one of his “Why the fuck did you wake me?” looks and rolled over and went back to sleep. 

“ONAAAA, HURRY UP! I’M GOING TO BE LATE BECAUSE OF YOU! STOP TALKING TO THE FUCKING CAT AND LET’S GO!” Ten screamed from downstairs. So I leave my mom’s room and as I’m turning off the light, I trip over something hard and plasticy and painful. I hop around on one foot, reaching for the light switch again, to see what object had obstructed my path in such an uncalled for manner. 

I turn on the light, and there on the floor in front of me, lay my old, purple, Gameboy Colour, with a Super Mario Land 1 cartridge inserted in the back.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One Response to “I think I might be psychic-ish.”

  1. Mohammed Says:

    Epic…

Leave a Reply

